LOCAL SINGLE MOM CELEBRATES NINE YEARS OF BEING CANCER FREE

10/28/2021
Breast Cancer Survivor, Marie Ward
Breast Cancer Survivor, Marie Ward

Marie Ward, breast cancer survivor, is a single mother of three boys Tre, Aaron, and Jeremiah. Ten years ago in 2011, after a routine mammogram, Marie's world was changed in a drastic way as she received the devastating news that she had a diagnosis of Breast Cancer. Fortunately, for Marie, the cancer had been detected early enough for treatment without any long-term or lasting effects. Today, Marie celebrates nine years of living cancer-free.

Before Marie's diagnosis, she lived a seemingly normal life. Marie, a successful businesswoman and entrepreneur, was busy working and taking care of three boys as a loving single mother. She enjoyed her social life and fellowship at her local church. Marie's mother, Doris Farmer, also a breast cancer survivor urged her to get her routine mammogram checkup, but her busy schedule caused her to keep putting it off. It was not until Marie randomly encountered three other breast cancer survivors within a week's span that she finally took the time to schedule her appointment for a mammogram.

Marie's story is significant due to the fact that upon scheduling her appointment for her breast exam she had no alarming side effects or symptoms. A few days post exam is when Marie received the bad news. "In that moment I was devastated, all kinds of emotions were going through my mind. I was angry with God, I thought "How could you do this to me and how am I going to make it through this?" Marie said.

Contrary to Marie's emotions of anger at the moment, it was actually her faith in God that helped carry her through her journey with breast cancer. Shortly after her diagnosis she underwent surgery and began treatment with friends and family by her side. "I was fortunate enough to have caught the diagnosis early enough not have to undergo radiation or chemo. I also believe had I not found out in the early stages, I don't think I would be here, "said Marie.

As a result of the bought with cancer, Marie has a new take on life. "Life truly is precious, and I am grateful to be here. I believe that God carried me through this tough time in my life and I am thankful," says Marie. Marie encourages women to get their routine breast exams. " I cannot stress enough how important it is for women to get screening with hopes of early detection," says Marie. Early detection is the aspect that saved Marie's life. Today, the boys are all grown up and she is grateful to be a proud grandmother of a five-year-old grandson, Romeo. A role that she may have missed out on had she not scheduled that exam when she did. 

SMU Single Mothers Unite
All rights reserved 2021
Powered by Webnode
Create your website for free! This website was made with Webnode. Create your own for free today! Get started